Hazelnut Tahini Chocolate Biscuits ♥

Hey guys,

Today I’m going to share with you one of my favorite healthy biscuits recipe. Few days ago I opened my old recipe notebook that I have for about 5 years or more and I write down my favorites inside.

So this one is really authentic.

Sesame Tahini Hazelnut Biscuits (6)

The combination of hazelnuts and cocoa is proven to be one of the best combos ever (at least for me) and adding sesame tahini to it makes it even better and irresistible. When you bake the biscuits in the oven your house is going to smell like Heaven, trust me.

I want to share some nutrition facts about sesame tahini with you, because it is really good for your health:

  • Sesame keeps your bones and blood vessels strong
  • It’s rich in minerals such as phosphorus, lecithin, magnesium, potassium and iron.
  • It’s a good source of Methionine, which aids in liver detoxification.
  • It’s one of the best sources of calcium out there.
  • It’s high in vitamin E and vitamins B1, B2, B3, B5 and B15.
  • Helps to promote healthy cell growth.
  • Prevent anemia.
  • Helps to maintain healthy skin and muscle tone.
  • It has 20% complete protein, making it a higher protein source than most nuts.
  • It’s easy for your body to digest because of its high alkaline mineral content, which is great for assisting in weight loss.
  • It is high in unsaturated fat (good fat!)

Sesame Tahini Hazelnut Biscuits (7).jpg

So those are most of the benefits of the sesame tahini. I love it and sometimes when I feel a need to eat chocolate I just mix 2 tbsp of sesame tahini with 1 tsp cocoa powder and 1/2 tsp honey. And this is my perfect homemade chocolate. I put it on top of 2 rice cakes and also add some banana pieces. This makes my favorite afternoon snack.

So let’s go to the recipe now.

Here’s how to do the Hazelnut Tahini Chocolate Biscuits:

Sesame Tahini Hazelnut Biscuits (5)

INGREDIENTS

  • 80 gr raw hazelnuts
  • 100 gr spelt flour
  • 2-3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 100 gr honey
  • 150 gr sesame tahini
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp soda bicarbonate
  • 30 g sesame seeds to sprinkle

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.
Gently blend the hazelnuts using a food processor. Pour them into a bowl, add the flour, baking powder and soda and stir. In another bowl, mix the honey, cocoa powder and sesame tahini and pour them into the dry mixture. Stir well first with a spoon, then continue mixing with your hands. With these proportions the mixture should not be very sticky. If it is, add a little flour.
Lay a baking pan with a baking paper.
Gently moisten your hands pick up from the mixture and form a ball with the size of a walnut. Than place it into the pan and squeeze it into it to flatten it. Make the other cookies the same way. Then sprinkle some sesame on top of the biscuits.
Bake them for 12 minutes until ready.
Remove and cool them completely. When you remove them, they are slightly soft, but as they cool they harden. ENJOY! ♥

Sesame Tahini Hazelnut Biscuits (1).jpg

 

 

Leave a comment